Another One Bites the Dust!

Oh! this post is not in any way, related to that 80’s hit single of Queen. I just need something to ‘illustrate‘ what my current dilemma is; photography-wise.

Hmm, ok let me start. It is normal for photography gears, especially lenses to accumulate dusts both in and out. That is something we cannot fully avoid, no matter how ‘protective’ we are. I, for example, despite being ‘the dorky one‘ in keeping my photography gears as tidy as possible, became a victim of this. I’ve purchased a dry box to keep my stuffs protected against dirt, moisture, et cetera. But then again everytime we use them, chances of getting exposed to dirt or dust are inevitable. Much to my surprise, my workhorse glass (a Canon 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM lens) caught several specks of dusts in its second (or third, not exactly sure) glass element. Very timely though, FPPF announced the schedule for the annual Photo World Asia event for 2013. They showcased Joe McNally and tons of local elite photographers, plus local vendors at the trade show. For those who have little idea on what Photo World Asia is all about, you may go ahead and open Federation of Philippine Photographers Foundation (FPPF) website to know all about the event and the timelines.

My intention of going to this event is to primarily avail the ‘free‘ lens cleaning of Canon and team-up with the some of the printing vendors in the market. I immediately looked for the Canon cleaning service to have my lens cleaned. Whilst waiting, I looked around the trade hall to test the new line-ups from Sony, Fujitsu, Samsung, Nikon, and of course Canon. I tested the Sony Alpha A77 and A99 DSLR units, Canon’s current flagship 1DX plus their Digital Cinema camera C300, and Tamron’s new SP 24-70mm f/2.8 DI VC USD Lens.

IMG_4702

Canon’s Digital Cinema Camera: C300

IMG_4700

Sony Alpha DSLR line-ups, in-focus is the Alpha 65.

And after all the fiddling with the stuffs showcased on the trade show, I returned to the Canon Kiosk to check my lens. Sadly, the ‘free‘ cleaning service they offered only focused on the external aesthetics. The dusts on the inner part of my lens are still pretty much there, holding their feet steady on the internal element(s). But I am not complaining, that is a free service anyway so I’m still thankful. Here is how my workhorse lens looks like to date:

IMG_4699

Visible specks of dusts inside my Canon EF-S 17-55mm 1:2.8 IS USM

My next stop will be to visit Canon’s Service Center in Eton Cyberpod in Ortigas, Pasig to have this poor lens of mine cleaned. Until next post, cheers!

Leave a Reply

